Maiden Win For Ahmad Fazrul In This Season's ARRC

Last update: 05/10/2015

KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 4 (Bernama) -- National cub prix rider, Ahmad Fazrul Sham snatched his maiden win at the Asian Road Racing Championship (ARRC) 2015 after winning the Underbone 130cc category in the fifth race at the Losail International Circuit in Doha, Qatar today.

The Horse Oil William Yamaha Racing Team rider finished the seven laps of the race in a time of 18 minutes 13.062 seconds to win 25 points, according to a statement issued by the ARRC.

Two other national riders, S. Sasitharen representing T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS and Felda PB Yamaha Racing Team rider, Md Fareez Afeez managed second and third placing respectively after reording times of 18'13.437s and 18'13.465s

With the victory, Ahmad Fazrul moved up one spot to overall fourth placing in the category with a total score of 81 points after five legs of the championship.

Faito Factory Yamaha Racing team rider Anggi Permana Putera of Indonesia, who was previously ranked fourth, dropped to eighth spot when he failed to complete the race.

Meantime, Musashi Boon Siew Honda Racing team rider Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi only managed fourth placing in the SuperSport 600cc after clocking 31 minutes 38.830 seconds in the 15-lap race.

Md Zaqhwan's teammate Yuki Takahashi of Japan won the race for the fifth consecutive time, clocking 31 minutes 18.704 seconds, thereby almost closing in as overall champion with one remaining race to go.

Indonesian rider Ahmad Yudhistira representing Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki team finished second behind Takahashi, lagging behind by 9.196 seconds while another Japanese rider Tomoyoshi Koyama of T Pro Yuzy Honda NTS finished third in a time of 31'38.809s.

The victory enabled Takahashi to collect 177 points, 44 points ahead of Koyama while Yudhisthira is in third spot with 123 points.

The last round of the ARRC will take place at the Buriram Circuit in Thailand from Dec 3-6.