Mamat wins penultimate stage of 2020 LTdL

Last update: 13/02/2020

ALOR SETAR, Feb 13 -- Malaysian rider Mohd Harrif Saleh continued his smashing performance by winning the seventh stage of 2020 Le Tour de Langkawi (LTdL) cycling race, involving a distance of 130.4km from Dewan Datuk Haji Abdullah Badawi in Bagan to Menara Alor Setar, here today.

The 31-year-old Kuala Terengganu-born rider, who already won the fifth stage from Kuala Kubu Bharu to Ipoh two days ago, was declared the winner by the chief judge after today's race ended with the bunch sprint to the finish line.

Italian sprinter Matteo Pelucchi of Bardiani CSF Faizane and the Ara Pro Racing Sunshine Coast rider, Taj Jones, came in second and third place, respectively.

The chief judge also awarded the same time of 2 hours 53 minutes and 18 seconds to the top 10 finishers.

Today's victory saw Mohd Harrif Saleh, better known as Mamat among his teammates, emerged as the best Malaysian rider in LTdL history by securing three stage wins.

Prior to this, he clinched his maiden at the second stage of the 2019 edition of the LTdL from Dataran Senawang to Melaka.