Anugerah Guru Inspirasi McDonald's Honours Teachers' Hardwork

Last update: 05/03/2019

By Farah Fatini Sulaiman

KUALA LUMPUR, March 5 (Bernama) -- The Anugerah Guru Inspirasi (AGI) McDonald’s  returns for the third year to pay tribute to inspiring teachers and is looking forward to receive more heart-warming entries.

In a statement, McDonald's said the award recgonised teachers who have gone beyond the call of duty in nurturing students and inspire them to do better, said McDonald's in a statement.

Last year, the Anugerah Guru Inspirasi McDonald’s received 3,000 submissions, where 25 teachers were accorded with the award.

Managing Director and Local Operating Partner, Azmir Jaafar said, McDonald’s Malaysia took pride in engaging and giving back to community.

“This award is dedicated to the educators who work diligently in facilitating the learning process of our future generation, while building a solid foundation that eventually leads to a strong and bright nation,” added Azmir.

Education Minister Dr Maszlee Malik who launched Anugerah Guru Inspirasi McDonald’s 2019 said the award recognised the teachers' dedication in teaching beyond the textbooks.

“Teachers are the backbone of the country’s education system, and teachers who exceed expectations and do more than what is asked of them deserve special acknowledgement,” Maszlee, was quoted as saying at the launch.

“I hope we as society continue to honour our teachers for their endless unselfish deeds in making a lasting and positive impact on the students who shall become tomorrow’s leaders,” added Maszlee.

The selection criteria includes improving the academic performance of the students, employing innovative and out-of-the-box methods of teaching, going beyond the call of duty to assist students, and last but not least, the positive impact the teacher has had on students.

Each chosen recipient of Anugerah Guru Inspirasi McDonald’s will receive RM5,000 in cash, a trophy, sash, and certificate of recognition.

Members of the public who wish to submit their nominations may do so from March 1 till March 31 at