UTP Drillers Become The Number One Private Institution Rugby Team In Malaysia

Last update: 29/11/2018

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 29 (Bernama) -- Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) rugby team, the Drillers finally claimed their first ever MASISWA 15s 2018 Rugby Championship at Multimedia University (MMU) Melaka recently, making them the number one  rugby team among private institutions in Malaysia.

UTP in a statement today said the Drillers beat UniKL RC 27-24 in the finals and defeated City University of Malaysia, 45-12 in the semi-finals.
As champions, the Drillers walked away with a trophy, medals and cash of RM1,500.

Other teams that took part in the championship were MMU Melaka, Management & Science University (MSU), Standford College Melaka and UNITEN. 

The team also book a ticket to qualify for the coveted Super 8 IPT Rugby Championship, that features only the best eight rugby teams of higher education institution all over Malaysia. 

The championship is organised annually by the Ministry of Higher Education.